Peter Pan: Fact, Fiction, and Analysis

There have been a number of posts, blogs, and concepts I’ve seen that have spread wild and horrible misunderstandings about my main boy, Peter Pan.

Some of them involve how Peter is a spirit that guides children into heaven when they die. False.

Some of them involve him being a wicked boy who lures children away from home, kidnaps them, and forces them to become Lost Boys until they grow older and he kills them before they become adults. Phew, that was a mind full…. False.

Some involve how Tinker Bell is a sweet, unselfish, cute little pixie. Even though I hate to admit it: False.

I could go on, but you get the picture. It’s all a bunch of fluff and people being persuaded by fan fiction, and creative shows and movies such as Once Upon a Time. I absolutely love that show, btw. Hook and Emma are my all time otp //Boi//

5cfaa692e34e3452d7767c3b07411819

Never the less, those of you who easily believe these ideas and rumors must be informed appropriately. I mean no disrespect. All of my knowledge comes from at least twelve years of obsessing over Peter… I know, it’s sad.

First thing you should know: James Matthew Barrie was a Scottish play-writer who wrote the ever amazing Peter Pan which was first performed in 1904. It was going to be called Peter and Wendy, but Barrie changed the title before the show premiered. He was inspired by several people in his life; his late wife, his dog, his brother who died young, and the Davies family who I’m sure, to most hardcore Peter Pan fans, sounds familiar.

How Peter Was Inspired: I’ve actually given this way too much thought for my own good. When I first learned that Barrie had an older brother who had died at the age of fourteen I thought ‘Peter must be a symbol for his brother, David!’ I then for a while believed Peter Davies, the middle child of the Davies family whom Barrie knew, was the overall inspiration for Peter Pan.

It wasn’t until I saw the movie Finding Neverland starring Johnny Depp for the tenth time that a light bulb suddenly lit up over my head. There is a line, that can be debated whether James Barrie really would have said, that states “So one day I dressed myself in David’s clothing and I went to her…  I think it was the first time she ever actually looked at me, and that was the end of the boy James. I used to say to myself he’d gone to Neverland.”  Some say maybe James reflected himself in Capt. James Hook who was infuriated that he had to grow old and hated Pan, but I think Barrie put rather most of himself within Peter. With the idea that Barrie believed he replaced his brother David and his actual self went to Neverland you can’t help but wonder if the young boy James could be perceived as Peter Pan. I don’t know, I find that to be a controversial topic.

44bdbe24f75c2bab61d93aa91d5d1156

Peter Technically Does Kill the Lost Boys: This is an insight I don’t like imagining. For one thing, it’s hard to even picture the young boy killing anyone, but we all know he does. He doesn’t kill the Lost Boys, per say, but he does kill the Pirates whom some of which are Lost Boys who have grown up and decided to join Hook’s crew. You see, once you’ve gone to Neverland it becomes difficult to remember your life back at the mainlands, and Peter found most of the Lost Boys in orphanages anyway. So the only option the Boys really have is to become pirates.

c172b282cca231249843ae0bbd5ddd63

Cont. Another popular assumption is that all Lost Boys stay young with Peter, but with that in mind then the idea of Peter Pan himself has been diminished entirely. Peter is suppose to be the only child to never grow up (expect for Jack Frost of course), so that would mean that the other boys would have to grow old. When you think back to the lovely Disney version of the movie, you can recall Tootles, Nibs, The Twins, etc.; well those characters do not actually stay young with Peter unlike what we have thought all along.

 

This post has become longer than expected. I don’t want to take up anyone’s entire feed, so if you liked this blog please press the star, share, and I’ll make a part two!

          to be continued…

 

 

Leave a Reply

